Image Matching: Local Features & Beyond

CVPR 2021 Workshop

Important information

Schedule

All times are MT (Mountain Time). For convenience, 9AM MT corresponds to 8AM PT, 11AM ET, 5PM CET, and 11PM in China.

About

Traditional, keypoint-based formulations for image matching are still very competitive on tasks such as Structure from Motion (SfM), despite recent efforts on tackling pose estimation with dense networks. In practice, many state-of-the-art pipelines still rely on methods that stood the test of time, such as SIFT or RANSAC.

In this workshop, we aim to encourage novel strategies for image matching that deviate from and advance traditional formulations, with a focus on large-scale, wide-baseline matching for 3D reconstruction or pose estimation. This can be achieved by applying new technologies to sparse feature matching, or doing away with keypoints and descriptors entirely.

The workshop topics include (but are not limited to):

Organisers

Vassileios
Balntas
Facebook
Vincent
Lepetit
ENPC ParisTech
Jiri
Matas
Czech Technical University
Dmytro
Mishkin
Czech Technical University
Johannes
Schönberger
Microsoft
Eduard
Trulls
Google
Kwang Moo
Yi
University of British Columbia


CVPR will be held at CVPR 2021, which will follow a virtual format once again, between June 19-25, 2021. The exact date of the workshop will be announced after the schedule is finalized. Keynote speakers will also be confirmed then. The workshop will once again feature an open challenge which will be announced in the following weeks.

The livestream for last year’s workshop remains available on YouTube.

Talks

News

Important dates

(All dates are at 11:59PM, Pacific Time.)

Challenge

Contact

Please reach us with any questions at image-matching@googlegroups.com.